Ohio Recovery: By the Numbers

Written by on July 14, 2019

COLUMBUS, Ohio–Since the Presidential disaster declaration was announced on June 18, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) have approved more than $10 million to help renters, homeowners and businesses in Ohio affected by the Memorial Day tornadoes, storms and flooding.

A snapshot of additional recovery numbers to-date includes:

Federal Dollars for The Buckeye State (as of July 12)

From FEMA:

.More than 1,100 applicants have been approved for FEMA assistance.

.More than $2.1 million has been approved in Housing Assistance, which may include funding for home repair, replacement or rental assistance.

.More than $790,000 has been approved for Other Needs Assistance, which provides money, if individuals and households qualify, for necessary expenses and serious needs caused by the disaster. This funding includes, but is not limited to, personal property, moving and storage, transportation, and medical and dental expenses.

From the SBA:

.The SBA has approved more than $7 million in loans for individuals and businesses to support recovery efforts.
In-Person Survivor Support from FEMA (as of July 12)

.1,980 Ohioans have visited state of Ohio-FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers set up across the state.

.4,943 homes have been visited by Disaster Survivor Assistance (DSA) Teams. DSA teams provide survivors with an opportunity to register for assistance, get their questions answered or receive referrals to other community resources to assist their recovery.

.More than 720 referrals have been made to partner resources, to-date.

.93.8 percent of home inspections have been completed. Inspections are an important step when determining an applicant’s eligibility for FEMA grant funding.

Eleven Ohio counties have been approved for individual assistance including Auglaize, Darke, Greene, Hocking, Mahoning, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Perry and Pickaway counties.

The deadline to register with FEMA is Aug. 19, 2019.

Current track